Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau Announces Invitees and Alternates

Posted by: on November 18th, 2009

What it takes . . .

What it takes . . .

WAIMEA, Oahu/Hawaii (Tuesday, November 17, 2009) – Quiksilver.com/Eddie launches today with the announcement of the 28 coveted Invitees and 24 Alternates to this year’s 25th Anniversary celebration of The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy. The ASP sanctioned event will be held on one day, between December 1, 2009 and February 28, 2010, when waves exceed the 20‐foot minimum threshold and Invitees contend for the $98K prize purse. The traditional opening ceremony honoring this silver anniversary will be one to remember, taking place at 2pm, December 3rd, 2009, at Waimea Bay.


Andy Irons, Hawaii

Brian Keaulana, Hawaii

Brock Little, Hawaii

Bruce Irons, Hawaii

Carlos Burle, Brazil

Clyde Aikau, Hawaii

Darryl Virostko, California

Greg Long, California

Jamie O’Brien, Hawaii

Jamie Sterling, Hawaii

Kelly Slater, Florida

Keone Downing, Hawaii

Makuakai Rothman, Hawaii

Mark Healey, Hawaii

Michael Ho, Hawaii

Noah Johnson, Hawaii

Peter Mel, California

Reef McIntosh, Hawaii

Ross Clarke-Jones, Australia

Rusty Keaulana, Hawaii

Shane Dorian, Hawaii

Sunny Garcia, Hawaii

Titus Kinimaka, Hawaii

Tom Carroll, Australia

Grant “Twiggy” Baker, South Africa

Ibon Amatriain, Euskadi

Ramon Navarro, Chile

Takayuki Wakita, Japan


Kala Alexander, Hawaii – Aikau Family Pick

Pancho Sullivan, Hawaii

Garrett McNamara, Hawaii

Kohl Christensen, Hawaii

Dave Wassel, Hawaii

Keoni Watson, Hawaii

Nathan Fletcher, Hawaii

Ian Walsh, Hawaii

Danny Fuller, Hawaii

Kalani Chapman, Hawaii

Taylor Knox, California

Chava Greenlee, Hawaii

Jamie Mitchell, Australia

Myles Padaca, Hawaii

Tony Moniz, Hawaii

Darrick Doerner, Hawaii

Ken “Skin Dog” Collins, California

Ross Williams, Hawaii

Derek Ho, Hawaii

Paul Paterson, Australia

Anthony Tashnick, California

Koby Abberton, Australia

Laurent Pujol, France

Laurie Towner, Australia


Mark Foo, Hawaii

Todd Chesser, Hawaii

Tiger Espere, Hawaii

Jay Moriarty, California

Peter Davi, California

Lester Falatea, Tahiti

Monster Energy will be presenting the Monster Drop Specialty Award for the surfer who makes the most critical drop and rides out of it during the event. The judges will determine the winner the day of the competition and will present the chosen surfer with a unique Monster Drop Specialty Award Trophy.

Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau gathers the most skillful and dynamic big‐wave surfers from around the globe. It is the world’s longest running and most prestigious big‐wave invitational.

The universal appeal and strength of “The Eddie” is a testament to the human spirit it honors and that we all seek to connect with: a life lived with passion, dedicated with meaning, and exited from heroically. Just 31 when he lost his life in an attempt to save others, Aikau has physically been gone now for as long as he was here. But far from being forgotten, his life story is now woven into the fabric of Hawaii.

The Eddie has only run seven times in the past 24 years. You don’t want to miss it when the Bay calls the momentous day. Go to Quiksilver.com/Eddie for swell updates, happenings from the North Shore, and to sign up for text alerts, to make sure you’re the first to know when the Bay calls the day.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

No Comments So Far!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.