Hawaiians Dominate Completion of Round 2 at the Billabong Pipeline Masters

Billabong Pipe Masters Stop No. 10 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour Pipeline, Oahu/Hawaii December 8 – 20, 2009 PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii (Friday, December 11, 2009) – Competitors reveled in the gently groomed four-to-six foot (1.5 – 2 metre) barrels of the Banzai Pipeline today as the remaining nine Round 2 heats of the […]

Greg Long Wins Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau

WAIMEA BAY, Oahu/Hawaii – After 25 years with most of those spent waiting, Waimea Bay delivered an event of legendary proportions today at the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, Fueled by Monster Energy. It was 25 years to the day since the first “Eddie” was held and waves of up to 50 feet poured […]

Silvana Lima Wins Commonwealth Bank Beachley Classic Over Stephanie Gilmore

DEE WHY, New South Wales (Sunday, October 4, 2009) – Silvana Lima (BRA), 24, won the Commonwealth Bank Beachley Classic this afternoon over reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion and current ASP Women’s World No. 1 Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 21,  in stormy three-to-five foot (1.5 metre) conditions at Dee Why in an action packed Final, […]

Beachley Falls to Woods in Round 3 of Commonwealth Bank Beachley Classic

DEE WHY, New South Wales (Saturday, October 3, 2009) – The Commonwealth Bank Beachley Classic got back underway today when the world’s finest competitive female surfers were greeted with stormy three-to four foot (1.5  metre) surf at Dee Why and completed two rounds of competition. Today’s action saw surfing icon and seven-time ASP Women’s World […]

Fanning Wins Hurley Pro Trestles, Claims US$105k and ASP World No. 2 Spot

LOWER TRESTLES, California (Saturday, September 19, 2009) – Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, former ASP World Champion (2007), has taken out the Hurley Pro Trestles, besting fellow Finalist Dane Reynolds (USA), 24, to claim the richest winner’s prize purse in surfing history, US$105,000. Event No. 6 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Hurley […]

Upsets and Action Abound as Billabong Pro Tahiti Reignites at Teahupoo

Aritz Aranburu (EUK), 23, current ASP World No. 39, caused the upset of the event, eliminating reigning nine-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA), 37, in Round 2 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti. For Aranburu, it would mark his first heat win of the 2009 ASP World Tour season; the young Basque surfer putting up an impressive 17.27 heat total to Slater’s 15.00.