Articles tagged with "jim beam surftag"

March 14 – Biggest Ever Showdown of Australian Boardriding Clubs in Sydney

Posted by: on February 27th, 2009



Taj Burrow surfing for Yallingup at the WA leg.

Taj Burrow surfing for Yallingup at the WA leg.



ASP Surfers Mick Fanning (Kirra), Taj Burrow (Yallingup), Joel Parkinson (Snapper Rocks), Tom Whitaker (Bronte), Chris Davidson (North Narrabeen) and Josh Kerr (Snapper Rocks) all confirmed starters

The 2009 Jim Beam National Surftag final is set to be the biggest surfing showdown in Sydney in over a decade with many of the world’s best surfers set to line up for the love of their club and big prize money.

Sixteen of Australia’s top Boardriding Clubs have  qualified from the regional eliminations and all will be chasing bragging rights as Australia’s premier Boardriding Club along with the richest prize pool in Club surfing in Australia with $12000 allocated for 1st place.

No other event in Sydney can boast a field that includes the likes of 2007 ASP World Champion Mick Fanning along with super stars of the sport like Joel Parkinson, Tom Whittaker and Josh Kerr and with club passion driving these surfers the action is certain to be amazing.

North Narrabeen are the defending Jim Beam Surftag champions and with local knowledge again in their favour will go into this year’s event confident they can win three in a row, but, never has a field of this quality lined up and this years winning club will legitimately lay claim to being Australia’s top boardriding club.

Former ASP World Tour surfer Toby Martin will head up the Dee Why team and Toby commented on his clubs chances by saying,   “The boys are pumped for this event, they have been training hard and I really think that making the final four is very possible and once a team is in the final then anything can happen – It’s great to have qualified for the finals and as a team we are looking forward to the challenge.”

In conjunction with the Jim Beam Surftag Final, Friday March 13 will see 60 elite Boardriding Club champions from all over Australia compete for the Jim Beam Boardriders Cup – an individual championship national field selecting surfers from Boardriding Clubs. This field will include surfers like Luke Dorrington (Snapper Rocks), Toby Martin (Dee Why), Dion Atkinson (Seaford South Australia) and former world number three Dave Macauley (Margaret River WA).

The  FCS Manufacturers Cup will also make up a part of the action  which will see Surfboard Labels JS (QLD), Warner (NSW), Murriginals (WA) and Island (VIC) go head to head for the $3000 winners cheque along with the title of being the best manufacturers surfing team in Australia!

The big one however is the Jim Beam National Surftag title and the sixteen qualified teams set to line up are –


·         South Coast – Werri and Ulladulla

·        Sydney South – Cronulla

·        Sydney City – Bronte

·        Northern Beaches – Queenscliff, Curl Curl, Dee Why and North Narrabeen

·        Far North NSW – LeBa


Queensland –

·        Snapper Rocks Teams 1 and 2  

·        Kirra

WA –

·        Yallingup

·        Margaret River

SA –

·        Seaford – Mid South Coast


·        13th Beach – Surfcoast / Bellarine Peninsula.


Posted by: on January 5th, 2009


Mick Fanning (Tweed Heads) posted a near perfect 9.9 during the Jim Beam Surftag Series at Duranbah.

Mick Fanning (Tweed Heads) posted a near perfect 9.9 during the Jim Beam Surftag Series at Duranbah.



Sunday January 4, 2009 – Former ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (Tweed Heads) drove the Kirra Surf Club to victory by posting the top scoring ride during the Final of the Jim Beam Surftag Series, where the club defeated archrivals Snapper Rocks at Duranbah Beach today.

Fanning’s world renowned lightening fast forehand snaps earned an incredible 9.9 (out of ten) score for a 25.1 total score which saw Kirra rise to victory with  90.1 ahead of Snapper Rocks B who placed second with 88.0, LeBa (Lennox Head / Ballina) third with 69.2 and Snapper Rocks A fourth with 40.7.

It was an emphatic victory for Kirra who held on until the dying minutes and lying just 0.9 points behind the heat leaders Snapper Rocks B, sealing their victory on the final wave of the heat to win the series and go into the National Finals in Sydney as the Queensland Champions.

“We’re ecstatic with our win here today,” said Clancy Dawson, Kirra’s second highest scorer behind Fanning. “Snapper has so many good surfers and to beat them with two of their teams in the Final is just huge for us.”

The Jim Beam Surftag saw 14 clubs compete at Duranbah with a total of three ASP World Tour competitors including Fanning for Kirra and Joel Parkinson and 2009 ASP World Tour qualifier Josh Kerr for Snapper Rocks B.

Despite two elite ASP Men’s World Tour competitors in the Snapper team, the 2002 and 2006 Surftag Champions could not hold off the charge from Kirra but will nonetheless advance into the National Final with two strong teams.

“Our objective today was to make the final,” said top Snapper Rocks B scorer Shaun Gossman who posted a 22.1 heat total in the Final.

 “Of course we were hoping for a win with two teams in the Final but it was a great Final with excellent surfing and we’ll be looking to capitalise on the depth of talent within our teams at the Nationals in March.”

The LeBa team put on an impressive overall performance with Adam Melling posting the highest total score of the final a 25.6 that aided the team in taking home their third place finish overall.

The Jim Beam Surftag Series included the FCS Manufacturers Cup featuring the best surfboard shapers competing under the same format. JS Surfboards captured the overall victory with Joel Parkinson top scoring for the team with his 23.7 overall score.

Finishing in second place were the Venom team followed by Skins Stuart in third and Trevor Cleavel in third.

The Jim Beam Surftag Series at Duranbah was the first of the 2009 National Series that will see qualifying events take place in NSW, WA and Victoria with the top 16 clubs contesting the National Final in Sydney in March.


Mick Fanning.

Mick Fanning.